Cooperations

SimTech4c

csblogo

SR3C-Logo

 

IST at a glance

Gruppenbild IST_Web3

The Institute for Systems Theory and Automatic Control was found in 1999 with the aim to specially focus on the research areas systems theory and automatic control. It is part of the Department on Engineering Design, Production Engineering and Automotive Engineering at the University of Stuttgart.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Allgöwer holds the chair and is head of the institute since its foundation. The mission of the institute with the abbreviation IST is to conduct research in the fields of systems and control theory and systems biology with the focus on theory and methodology development for engineering applications – mostly in working together with partners.

DSC05650_1webThe IST has experienced a rapid growth since the foundation in 1999. Starting with one professor and four employees at the beginning, the IST now comprises three professors and more than 25 research assistants who are supported by further administrative and technical staff. On October 1, 2008, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Nicole Radde started to work at the IST. At this time, she held a junior professorship on systems theory in systems biology that was sponsored by the cluster of excellence in simulation technology at the University of Stuttgart. Interestingly, Nicole Radde is the first female professor in the history of the long-established department. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Ebenbauer followed Nicole Radde on April 15, 2009. He was appointed as professor on computations in control. In the year 2015, Nicole Radde became full professor with life tenure.

The Institute for Systems Theory and Automatic Control substantially participates in the Stuttgart Research Centre for Simulation Technology (SimTech) and the Stuttgart Research Centre for Systems Biology.

With regard to teaching activities, the IST is assigned to the study program “Engineering Cybernetics”. In this respect, the IST is responsible for the basic and specialized academic teaching activities in the areas of systems theory and automatic control for all study programs of the mechanical engineering faculties and beyond.

Several members of the institute are an active part of the academic self-administration and participate in selected scientific and academic committees as well as in national and international organizations. Some members are also editor or co-editor of internationally leading journals. At the moment, Frank Allgöwer is e.g. Vice President of the German Research Foundation and President Elect of the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC).

More information on the teaching activities, current research projects, our recent seminar program and so on can be found on the corresponding pages.

Kooperationen

SimTech4c

csblogo

SR3C-Logo

 

Das IST im Profil

Gruppenbild der IST-MItarbeiter

Das Institut für Systemtheorie und Regelungstechnik (IST) der Universität Stuttgart wurde 1999 mit dem Ziel der Schwerpunktbildung auf dem Gebiet der Systemtheorie und Regelungstechnik gegründet. Organisatorisch ist das Institut der Fakultät 7 – Konstruktions-, Produktions- und Fahrzeugtechnik (Maschinenbau) zugeordnet.

Seit der Gründung des IST leitet Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Allgöwer das Institut. Das IST befasst sich mit der Entwicklung moderner Methoden der System- und Regelungstheorie und der Systembiologie. Der Fokus liegt dabei nicht nur darauf, entsprechende Verfahren theoretisch herzuleiten, sondern diese auch praktisch umzusetzen und, zumeist mit Partnern, experimentell zu evaluieren.

Eingangsbereich des InstitutsDas IST erfährt seit 1999 ein starkes Wachstum. Waren es im Gründungsjahr noch ein Professor und vier wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter, die am IST beschäftigt waren, so sind es inzwischen drei Professoren und mehr als 25 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, die durch weitere Angestellte im technischen und Verwaltungsbereich unterstützt werden. Die zweite Professorenstelle wurde am 1. Oktober 2008 erstmalig als Juniorprofessur für Systems Theory in Systems Biology im Rahmen des Exzellenzclusters Simulation Technology mit Frau Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Nicole Radde besetzt – bemerkenswerterweise als erster Professorin in der Geschichte des traditionsreichen Stuttgarter Maschinenbaus. Am 15. April 2009 ergänzte Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Ebenbauer das Professorenteam des IST. Seine Professur ist auf den Schwerpunkt „Computation and Control“ ausgelegt. Im Jahr 2015 wurde Frau Prof. Radde im Rahmen eines tenure-Prozesses auf eine unbefristete W3-Professur übernommmen.

Das Institut für Systemtheorie und Regelungstechnik ist unter anderem wesentlich am Stuttgarter Zentrum für Simulationswissenschaften (SimTech) und am Stuttgart Research Centre for Systems Biology beteiligt.

Im Hinblick auf die Lehre ist das IST der Lehreinheit “Technische Kybernetik” zugeordnet und verantwortet die universitäre Grundlagen- und Spezialausbildung in den Lehrgebieten Regelungstechnik und Systemtheorie für alle Studiengänge der Fakultäten des Stuttgarter Maschinenbaus und darüber hinaus.

Mehrere Mitarbeiter des Instituts sind aktiv in die universitäre Selbstverwaltung eingebunden und engagieren sich in ausgewählten Wissenschafts- und Universitätsgremien und nationalen und internationalen Organisationen oder sind Herausgeber und Mitherausgeber führender internationaler Fachzeitschriften. So ist z.B. Frank Allgöwer derzeit Vizepräsident der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft und President Elect des weltweiten Dachverbands der Automatisierungstechnik IFAC (International Federation of Automatic Control).

Mehr Informationen zu den Lehrtätigkeiten, zu laufenden Forschungsprojekten, unserem aktuellen Seminarprogramm und vielen weiteren Themen finden Sie auf den folgenden Seiten.