Cooperations

SimTech4c

csblogo

SR3C-Logo

 

Studying abroad

The IST provides student exchange programs for students of the University of Stuttgart who want to study abroad, and we are also happy to welcome foreign students to take part in our lectures or work on our student projects.

Every year in fall we organize an information event on exchange studies.

Below you find information on the exchange programs and opportunities offered by the IST. General information on exchange studies for students of Engineering Cybernetics can be found on http://www.techkyb.de/.

Student Exchange within the EU

The IST is in charge of several programs within the ERASMUS student exchange. With this program, students of the University of Stuttgart have the possibility to take courses abroad or to become part of a research project at a foreign university.

The IST is in charge of the following partnerships:

University Country Places Max. Duration Remarks

Aalborg Universitet

Denmark

2 6 months  

Università del Salento (Lecce)

Italy

2

12 months

 

Università degli Studi di Pavi

Italy

2

6 months

Master students only

Technische Universiteit Eindhoven

Netherlands

2

12 months

Master students only

Norges Teknisk-Naturvitenskapelige Universitet (Trondheim)

Norway

2

10 months

Master students only

Kungl Tekniska Högskolan (Stockholm)

Schweden

2

10 months

 

École Polytechnique Fédérale Lausanne

Switzerland

1 10 months Swiss European Mobility Programme

Universidad de Barcelona

Spain

2

10 months

Systems biology only

Universidad de Valladolid

Spain

1

12 months

 

Koc University (Istanbul)

Turkey

2

12 months

 

 

In addition, students can take advantage of all other ERASMUS partnerships of the University of Stuttgart (subject to possible restrictions). An overview over all partners can be found on the web page of the international office.

Examinations taken abroad can be accounted for in Stuttgart by individual agreement with the corresponding professor. For participation within the exchange program and when writing a thesis, knowledge of the English language is sufficient; when taking lectures, the national language might be necessary. In principle, a student exchange can take place in an early stage of the studies, for example from the 5th semester on. This can be discussed best for each case individually.

The financial support by the EU (ERASMUS+ containing the ERASMUS program) includes a grant for the studies abroad and can be awarded for up to two semesters.

When applying, your application fold should contain:

  • Motivation letter, showing why you apply for the exchange (at most one page),
  • Your planned courses at the host university,
  • CV (at most two pages),
  • List of priorities
  • Proof of necessary language skills,
  • Transcript of records,
  • Bachelor degree (for Master students),
  • High school diploma.

Further Information on the application procedure can be found on the web pages of the international office. Please consider the standardized application deadline. The deadline for applications for the upcoming winter and summer term is January, 15th. Please consider the hints given on the list of priorities as well.

We ask you to submit your application documents before the deadline (in paper) to Philipp Köhler.

Further Information:

 

Double Master Program with Chalmers University of Technology
TU Chalmers Logo (Quelle: TU Chalmers)
Source: TU Chalmers

Starting in the winter term 2011/2012, the university of Stuttgart offers a Double Master Program in cooperation with Chalmers University of Technology (Chalmers Tekniska Högskola), in Gothenborg, Sweden. Within this cooperation, the Master Program of Engineering Cybernetics is combined with the Master Program Systems, Control & Mechatronics of Chalmers University of Technology.

Within this cooperation, students from the University of Stuttgart spend their first two semesters of their master program in Stuttgart. The program is continued for the last two semesters at Chalmers University of Technology, where the degree program will be finished, and where also the Master thesis will be written. The examinations taken at Chalmers University of Technology will account for equivalent courses in Stuttgart and vice versa. After successfully finishing the Double Master Program, the graduate will be awarded a Master in Engineering Cybernetics from the University of Stuttgart as well as a Master in Systems, Control & Mechatronics from the Chalmers University of Technology. Thus, the students receive two fully-fledged Master degrees after the two-year combined degree program.

Only few limitations in choosing their courses at the University of Stuttgart apply for the students taking the double master degree. These limitations are necessary in order to guarantee the mutual recognition of the courses taken at the home university. Details concerning the study program and the possible choices are provided in the Macroplan.

The Double Master Degree started in the winter term 2011/2012 and is open to all students of the Master Program Engineering Cybernetics.

The application deadline for students in their first master semester is December 01. Students interested in participating in the Double Master Program are asked to send the application (Letter of motivation, CV, Bachelor diploma, transcript of Records as well as high school diploma) in one PDF-file electronically to Philipp Köhler.

Student Exchange outside the EU

There are different possibilities for a student exchange outside the EU:

  • There is a large number of partner universities of the University of Stuttgart. It is possible to study up to two semesters at one of these universities with tuition exemption. An overview over all partner universities can be found on the web page of the international office.
  • When the student exchange is for the purpose of writing a thesis, one can go to universities which are not partner universities as a free mover. For this, you can benefit from the numerous contacts and partnerships of the IST to universities on the entire world.
  • Some institutes are offering student exchange within the “Internationale Studien- und Ausbildungspartnerschaften (ISAP)“ program. Of particular interest for the students in engineering cybernetics is the program of the ITM with the Georgia Institute of Technology.
Weltkarte (Quelle: Pixabay)
Source: Pixabay

In general, the organization for a student exchange outside the EU should start 18 months ahead of the desired starting date. We can support any planning that is within the area of systems theory and automatic control.

Since the exchange programs – except the ISAP programs - need to be organized individually, it is best to discuss questions, plans, and goals in a personal meeting. Please contact Philipp Köhler in case of interest.

Scholarships and funding opportunities

To be able to fund a student exchange, there are numerous possibilities. The planning for a student exchange should always include the planning of the funding of this exchange. Most of the scholarships and funding programs usually have a fix deadline which might be months ahead of the desired starting date.

An overview over scholarships and funding opportunities can be found on the web page of the international office.

Kooperationen

SimTech4c

csblogo

SR3C-Logo

 

Kybernetikstudium im Ausland

Das IST bietet Studierenden der Technischen Kybernetik und Studierenden mit Vertiefung Regelungstechnik eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten, einen Teil Ihres Studiums an einer ausländischen Universität zu absolvieren. Allgemeine Informationen zum Thema Auslandsstudium für Studierende der Kybernetik finden Sie auch unter http://www.techkyb.de/.

Im Herbst jeden Jahres findet eine Informationsveranstaltung zum Thema Auslandsstudium statt, in der wir Sie grundlegend und umfassend informieren möchten.

 

Auslandsstudium innerhalb der EU

Das IST betreut verschiedene Programme im Rahmen des ERSMUS-Studierendenaustausches. Dieses Programm ermöglicht es Studierenden der Universität Stuttgart an ausländischen Hochschulen Vorlesungen zu besuchen und an Forschungsprojekten mitzuwirken.

Vom IST werden folgende Partnerschaften betreut:

Universität Land Plätze Max. Dauer Bemerkungen

Aalborg Universitet

Dänemark

2 6 Monate  

Università del Salento (Lecce)

Italien

2

12 Monate

 

Università degli Studi di Pavi

Italien

2

6 Monate

Nur Master-studenten

Technische Universiteit Eindhoven

Niederlande

2

12 Monate

Nur Master-studenten

Norges Teknisk-Naturvitenskapelige Universitet (Trondheim)

Norwegen

2

10 Monate

Nur Master-studenten

Kungl Tekniska Högskolan (Stockholm)

Schweden

2

10 Monate

 

École Polytechnique Fédérale Lausanne

Schweiz

1 10 Monate Swiss European Mobility Programme

Universitat de Barcelona

Spanien

2

10 Monate

Nur System-biologie

Universidad de Valladolid

Spanien

1

12 Monate

 

Koc University (Istanbul)

Türkei

2

12 Monate

 

 

Zudem können die Studierenden (unter eventuellen Einschränkungen) alle weiteren ERASMUS-Partnerschaften der Universität Stuttgart in Anspruch nehmen. Eine Übersicht findet sich auf den Seiten des Dezernat Internationales.

Nach Absprache können die im Ausland erbrachten Studienleistungen in Stuttgart angerechnet werden. Zur Teilnahme am Austauschprogramm und zur Anfertigung der Arbeiten reicht die Kenntnis der englischen Sprache, für die Lehrveranstaltungen sind oft Kenntnisse der Landessprache notwendig.

Prinzipiell kann ein Austausch ab einem frühen Zeitpunkt im Studium, beispielsweise ab dem 5. Semester, stattfinden. Dies kann am besten in einem persönlichen Gespräch geklärt werden.

Die finanzielle Förderung durch die EU (ERASMUS+ mit dem Teilprogramm ERASMUS) umfasst einen Zuschuss für das Studium im Ausland und wird für bis zu neun Monate gewährt.

Ihre Bewerbungsmappe sollte folgende Unterlagen enthalten:

  • Anschreiben, in dem Sie darlegen, weshalb Sie sich für diesen Austausch bewerben (max. 1 Seite),
  • an der Gasthochschule geplante Studienleistungen,
  • Lebenslauf (max. 2 Seiten),
  • Prioritätenliste,
  • Nachweis über entsprechende Sprachkenntnisse,
  • Nachweis über abgelegte Prüfungsleistungen,
  • Bachelorzeugnis (sofern Masterstudent),
  • Zeugnis der Allgemeinen Hochschulreife.

Weitere Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren finden Sie auf der Seite des Dezernat Internationales. Zu beachten sind die vereinheitlichten Bewerbungsfristen. Die Bewerbungsfrist für das jeweilige akademische Jahr, d.h. Winter- und Sommersemester, ist der 15. Januar. Bitte beachten Sie bei Ihrer Bewerbung auch die Hinweise auf der Prioritätenliste.

Bitte reichen Sie bis zur Bewerbungsfrist Ihre Bewerbungsmappe (in Papierform) bei Philipp Köhler ein.

Weitere Auskünfte:

Doppel-Master-Programm mit der TU Chalmers
TU Chalmers Logo (Quelle: TU Chalmers)
Quelle: TU Chalmers

Seit dem Wintersemester 2011/2012 wird an der Universität Stuttgart in Kooperation mit der TU Chalmers (Chalmers Tekniska Högskola) in Göteborg, Schweden, ein Doppel-Master-Programm angeboten. Der Studiengang Technische Kybernetik wird dabei mit dem Studiengang Systems, Control & Mechatronics der TU Chalmers kombiniert.

Studierende der Universität Stuttgart in diesem Kooperationsprogramm verbringen die ersten beiden Semester ihres Masterstudiums in Stuttgart. Anschließend setzen sie das Studium für die beiden letzten Semester in Göteborg fort und schließen es inklusive Masterarbeit dort ab. Die an der TU Chalmers erbrachten Prüfungsleistungen werden in Stuttgart voll angerechnet und ersetzen äquivalente Veranstaltungen, umgekehrt gilt das Gleiche. Nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss des Doppel-Master Studiums wird den Absolventen ein Master in Systems, Control & Mechatronics von der TU Chalmers sowie ein Master in Technischer Kybernetik von der Universität Stuttgart verliehen. Die Studierenden erhalten somit nach ihrem zweijährigen, kombinierten Masterstudium zwei vollwertige Masterabschlüsse.

Für Studierende im Doppel-Master ergeben sich einige Einschränkungen für die Wahl der Fächer an der Universität Stuttgart. Diese sind notwendig, um die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Studienleistungen zu gewährleisten. Details über den Ablauf des Studiums und die Fächerwahl können dem Makroplan entnommen werden.

Das Doppel-Master Programm wird bereits seit dem Wintersemester 2011/2012 angeboten. Dieses Angebot kann von allen Studierenden des Master-Studiengangs Technische Kybernetik wahrgenommen werden.

Der Bewerbungsschluss für Studierende die bereits im ersten Mastersemester studieren ist der 01. Dezember. Interessierte senden bitte ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen (Motivationsschreiben, Lebenslauf, Bachelorzeugnis bzw. Notenauszug sowie Abiturzeugnis) elektronisch als PDF-Datei an Philipp Köhler.

Auslandsstudium außerhalb der EU

Auch außerhalb der EU kann ein Auslandsstudium absolviert werden. Dabei stehen verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Auswahl:

  • Es gibt eine große Anzahl von Partnerhochschulen der Universität Stuttgart. An diesen Hochschulen ist es möglich ohne Studiengebühren bis zu zwei Semester zu verbringen. Eine Übersicht über die Partnerhochschulen findet sich auf den Seiten des Dezernat Internationales.
  • Für das Anfertigen von studentischen Arbeiten kann man auch als free mover an ausländische Hochschulen gehen, die keine Partnerabkommen mit der Universität Stuttgart haben. Nutzen Sie hierzu die zahlreichen Kontakte und Partnerschaften des IST in alle Welt.
  • Einige Institute bieten auch Austauschprogramme im Rahmen von Internationalen Studien- und Ausbildungspartnerschaften (ISAP) an. Für Kybernetiker interessant ist die Partnerschaft des ITM mit dem Georgia Institute of Technology.
Weltkarte (Quelle: Pixabay)
Quelle: Pixabay

Generell sollten die Planungen für einen Auslandsaufenthalt außerhalb der EU 18 Monate vor der geplanten Abreise begonnen werden. Wir können jede Planung unterstützen, die sich mit Arbeiten im Bereich der Systemtheorie und Regelungstechnik beschäftigt.

Da abgesehen von den ISAP Programmen die Planungen sehr individuell sind, können Fragen, Vorstellungen und Ziele am besten in einem persönlichen Gespräch geklärt werden. Wenden Sie sich dazu an Philipp Köhler.

Stipendien und Fördermöglichkeiten

Um einen Auslandsaufenthalt zu finanzieren gibt es verschiedene Möglichkeiten. Die Planungen eines Auslandsaufenthalts sollten stets auch die finanziellen Planungen beinhalten. Meist haben Stipendien- und Förderprogramme einen fixen Bewerbungsschluss, der oftmals mehrere Monate vor der geplanten Abreise liegt.

Eine Übersicht über Stipendien und Fördermöglichkeiten ist auf den Seiten des Dezernat Internationales zu finden.