Talk of Prof. Elena Valcher

June 20, 2017

--- Title: Consensus and Bipartite Consensus of High-Order Multi-Agent Systems with Switching Topologies

Time: June 20, 2017
Download as iCal:

Prof. Elena Valcher
Dept. of Information Engineering
University of Padova, Italy


Tuesday, 2017-06-20 13:30
IST-Seminar-Room 2.268 - Pfaffenwaldring 9 - Campus Stuttgart-Vaihingen



In this talk we report on some recent results about the consensus of multi-agent systems with cooperative interactions and switching communication topologies.

By extending the lifting approach first proposed by J. Hendrickx, we show how these results can be used to solve bipartite consensus problems in case of multi-agent systems with both cooperative and antagonistic interactions, and switching communication topologies.


Biographical Information

Maria Elena Valcher received the Ph.D. Degree in Systems Engineering (1995) from the University of Padova (Italy). Since January 2005 she is Full Professor of Control Theory at the University of Padova.

She is author/co-author of 78 papers appeared on international journals, 95 conference papers and 13 book chapters. Her research interests include multidimensional systems theory, polynomial matrix theory, behavior theory, Boolean control networks, multi-agent systems and consensus problems, switched systems and positive systems.

She was in the Editorial Boards of the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control (2000-2003), Systems and Control Letters (2004-2010), Automatica (2006-2013), SIAM J. on Control and Optimization (2012-2014), and she is currently in the Editorial Boards of Multidimensional Systems and Signal Processing (2004-today), the European Journal of Control (2013-today) and IEEE Access (2014-now).

Since January 2017, she is the Editor in Chief of IEEE Control Systems Letters.

She held various positions within the IEEE Control Systems Society: Appointed BoG Member (2003); Elected BoG Member (2004-2006; 2010-2012); Vice President Member Activities (2006-2007); Vice President Conference Activities (2008-2010); President-Elect (2014); President (2015); Junior Past President (2016). She was involved in the organization of several conferences, in particular she was registration Chair of the 2004 IEEE CDC, Publicity Chair of the 2007 MSC, Registration Chair of the 2011 IFAC World Conference and Program Chair of the 2012 IEEE CDC.

She received the 2011 IEEE CSS Distinguished Member Award and she is an IEEE Fellow since 2012.




To the top of the page